Loyola switching leagues

Loyola switching leagues
August 30, 2012, 9:40 pm
Share This Post

By Ben Standig

The Loyola Greyhounds made a run to the NCAA Tournament this past season as mens basketball champions of the Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference. The mens lacrosse team took it a few steps further, winning the national championship.

After the upcoming season, any postseason trips or titles will come under a different conference banner. More specifically, as a member of the Patriot League.

The Greyhounds are heading to the Patriot League starting July 1, 2013 for the 2013-14 academic year, the league announced this week.

Loyola becomes the 10th member of the conference, formed for the 1990-91 season, which includes Navy, Army and American University. Boston University will also become a member for the 2013-14 campaign.

Mens basketball and lacrosse will be among 17 Loyola teams competing in the Patriot League including women's basketball, men and women's cross country, men's golf, women's lacrosse, women's rowing, men and women's soccer, men and women's swimming and diving, men and women's tennis, women's indoor and outdoor track and field and women's volleyball.