Vegas sets odds on tonight's NHL award winners

Vegas sets odds on tonight's NHL award winners
June 24, 2014, 11:45 am
Share This Post

Long before he spruces up for tonight’s NHL Awards ceremony in Las Vegas, Alex Ovechkin knew which hardware he’d be bringing home.

For the fourth time in seven years, the Capitals’ 28-year-old captain will be recognized as the NHL goal-scoring champion, his 51-goal season securing yet another Rocket Richard trophy.

But what about some of his NHL counterparts? In the spirit of Las Vegas, we’ve been provided the odds on who will win some other NHL hardware, courtesy Bovada.

Hart Memorial Trophy [MVP]            

Sidney Crosby, Penguins                             1/100

Ryan Getzlaf, Ducks                           12/1

Claude Giroux, Flyers                               25/1

Lady Byng Memorial Trophy [Sportsmanship]

Ryan O'Reilly, Avalanche                              2/13

Patrick Marleau, Sharks                              5/1

Martin St. Louis, Rangers                           14/1

Vezina Trophy [Top Goaltender]             

Tuukka Rask, Bruins                               5/6

Semyon Varlamov, Avalanche                      7/5

Ben Bishop, Lightning                                   11/2

Calder Memorial Trophy [Top Rookie]        

Nathan MacKinnon, Avalanche                       1/16

Tyler Johnson, Lightning                             12/1

Ondrej Palat, Lightning                                   11/1

James Norris Memorial Trophy  [Top Defenseman]          

Duncan Keith, Blackhawks                                10/11

Zdeno Chara, Bruins                               8/5

Shea Weber, Predators                                4/1

Jack Adams Award [Top Coach]    

Patrick Roy, Avalanche                                 1/5

Mike Babcock, Red WIngs                             9/2

Jon Cooper, Lightning                                    10/1

Frank J. Selke Trophy [Top Defensive Forward]

Patrice Bergeron, Bruins                         2/7

Anze Kopitar, Kings                                 11/4

Jonathan Toews, Blackhawks                            15/1

Here is a list of other NHL awards and finalists:

Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy [Dedication To Hockey]Jaromir Jagr (NJ), Manny Malhotra (CAR),Dominic Moore (NYR)
Ted Lindsay Award [MVP Voted By Players]Sidney Crosby (PIT), Ryan Getzlaf (ANA), Claude Giroux (PHI)
NHL General Manager of the Year AwardMarc Bergevin (MTL), Dean Lombardi(LA), Bob Murray (ANA)
Mark Messier NHL Leadership AwardDustin Brown(LA), Ryan Getzlaf (ANA), Jonathan Toews (CHI)
NHL Foundation Player AwardPatrice Bergeron (BOS), Brent Burns (SJ), Duncan Keith (CHI)

Already announced winners of 2014 NHL Awards:
Art Ross TrophySidney Crosby (PIT)
King Clancy Memorial TrophyAndrew Ference (EDM)
Maurice “Rocket” Richard TrophyAlex Ovechkin (WSH)
William M. Jennings TrophyJonathan Quick (LA)
Conn Smythe TrophyJustin Williams (LA)
Presidents’ Trophy: Boston Bruins
Prince of Wales Trophy: New York Rangers
Clarence S. Campbell Bowl: Los Angeles Kings
Stanley Cup: Los Angeles Kings

Of the players that have been drafted by the Capitals, here is there own wall of fame of award winners:

Hart Trophy – Alex Ovechkin: 2007-08, 2008-09, 2012-13

Art Ross Trophy – Alex Ovechkin: 2007-08

Vezina Trophy – Olie Kolzig: 1999-00, Jim Carey: 1995-96

King Clancy Memorial Trophy [Leadership] – Olie Kolzig: 2005-06

Ted Lindsay Award – Alex Ovechkin: 2007-08, 2008-09, 2009-10

Maurice “Rocket” Richard Trophy – Alex Ovechkin: 2007-08, 2008-09, 2012-13, 2013-14

Calder Memorial Trophy – Alex Ovechkin: 2005-06

Hockey Hall of Fame – Mike Gartner: 2001, Scott Stevens: 2007

[RELATED: Local kid invited to Canadiens development camp]