Neuvirth, Erat left off Czech Olympic team

Neuvirth, Erat left off Czech Olympic team
January 6, 2014, 4:15 pm
Share This Post

Turns out Michal Neuvirth and Marty Erat were right.

A little more than two weeks ago, when Neuvirth made it clear that if he’s not a No. 1 in Washington maybe he could be somewhere else, he also told CSNWashington that his lack of playing time this season would cost him a spot on the Czech Olympic team.

Erat said pretty much the same thing recently when he said he didn’t expect to be named to his country’s Olympic team, which was named today.

Neuvirth, who has not played since Nov. 22 and is currently a third-string goalie for the Caps behind Philipp Grubauer and Braden Holtby, has a 2-3-1 record this season with a 2.83 GAA and .912 save percentage.  

[RELATED: Orlon no longer wants trade]

Neuvirth was passed over in favor of Ondrej Pavelec of the Winnipeg Jets and a pair of KHL goalies, Jakub Kovar of Avtomobilist Yekaterinburg and  Alexander Salak of SKA St. Petersburg.

Erat, 32, played for the Czech Olympic team in 2006 and 2010. Among the forwards selected ahead of him was former NHLer Petr Nedved, 42, who is now playing professionally in the CzechRepublic. I 39 games for the Caps this season Erat has no goals and 15 assists and is a minus-4.

He spent Monday’s practice skating on a fourth line with Jay Beagle and Tom Wilson.

Here is the Czech Olympic roster announced on Monday.


Jakub Kovar, Avtomobilist Yekaterinburg (KHL)

Ondrej Pavelec, Winnipeg Jets

Alexander Salak, SKA St.Petersburg (KHL)


Michal Barinka, Vitkovice Ostrava (CZE)

Radko Gudas, TampaBay Lightning

Tomas Kaberle, Kladno (CZE)

Jakub Kindl, Detroit Red Wings

Lukas Krajicek, Dynamo Minsk (KHL)

Zbynek Michalek, Phoenix Coyotes

Michal Rozsival, Chicago Blackhawks

Ladislav Smid, Calgary Flames

Marek Zidlicky,New Jersey Devils


Roman Cervenka, SKA St.Petersburg (KHL)

Patrik Elias, New Jersey Devils

Michael Frolik, Winnipeg Jets,

Martin Hanzal, Phoenix Coyotes

Ales Hemsky, Edmonton Oilers

Jaromir Jagr, New Jersey Devils

David Krejci, Boston Bruins

Milan Michalek, Ottawa Senators

Petr Nedved, Bili Tygri Liberec (CZE)

Jiri Novotny, Lev Prague (KHL)

Ondrej Palat, TampaBay Lightning

Jakub Petruzalek, Amur Khabarovsk (KHL)

Tomas Plekanec, Montreal Canadiens

Vladimir Sobotka, St. Louis Blues

Jakub Voracek, Philadelphia Flyers