RG3 wins Rookie of the Year

RG3 wins Rookie of the Year
February 2, 2013, 7:15 pm
Share This Post

See RG3 walk the red carpet at the NFL awards

Robert Griffin III is the NFL’s Offensive Rookie of the Year.

The Redskins rookie quarterback won in a vote that was not particularly close. The AP conducted the vote and announced that Griffin got 29 votes to 11 for Colts quarterback Andrew Luck and 10 for Seahawks QB Russell Wilson.

The vote was held at the end of the regular season before the playoffs started.

Griffin threw 20 touchdowns and just five interceptions while posting a passer rating of 102.4, an NFL rookie record. He became the only player, rookie or veteran, in NFL history with 3,000 passing yards, 800 rushing and a 60+ completion percentage.

Griffin led the Redskins to their first NFC East title since 1999.

According to reports Griffin was able to walk onto the stage to accept the award. He had reconstructive surgery on his right knee on January 9.