RG3 voted Redskins' Ed Block Courage Award recipient

RG3 voted Redskins' Ed Block Courage Award recipient
January 7, 2014, 12:45 pm
Share This Post

Chris Cooley on the appeal of Redskins coaching job

Robert Griffin III has been named the Redskins’ 2013 Ed Block Courage Award recipient as voted by his teammates, the team announced Tuesday afternoon.

The honor is given annually to a player on each of the league’s 32 teams for showing “extraordinary courage in the face of adversity.” 

Griffin, of course, returned from surgery on the ACL and LCL in his right knee in only eight months and was the team’s starter in Week 1.

“It’s an honor to be selected by my teammates to receive this award,” Griffin III was quoting as saying in a statement. “I received a tremendous amount of support throughout the rehab process from my teammates, the doctors, the trainers and everyone involved in the organization.”

“This award is not only a testament to how hard I worked to return, but also a testament to the support system I’ve had around me for the last 12 months,” Griffin continued. “I’m grateful for their hard work and support and look forward to preparing for the 2014 season.”

Athletic trainer Larry Hess also praised Griffin’s perseverance and work ethic. 

[RELATED: Looking at Redskins coaching candidate Darrell Bevell]

“Robert’s commitment this offseason helped him fully recover from a major knee surgery,” Hess said in a statement. “His passion and dedication toward his profession motivated him throughout this process and made working with him enjoyable. He is well deserving of this award.” 

Griffin finished the season on the sidelines, benched for the final three games by former head coach Mike Shanahan. Griffin, however, is expected to return to the starting role in 2014.

The award is named for Ed Block, the longtime head athletic trainer of the Baltimore Colts who was a pioneer in his profession and a respected humanitarian. It is awarded each season by vote of the recipient’s teammates. 

Offensive lineman Kory Lichtensteiger was last year's recipient of the award.