Morris chosen for Redskins' Walter Payton Award

Morris chosen for Redskins' Walter Payton Award
January 17, 2014, 9:45 am
Share This Post

Redskins running back Alfred Morris has been chosen for the team’s Walter Payton Man of the Year award in recognition for his community service work.

The honor “is given annually by the league to recognize a player’s community service and volunteer efforts as well as his excellence on the field,” according to a press release from the team.

“Anytime I get an opportunity to give back, I give back,” Morris said. “My heart for giving was shaped by others who gave to my family. I saw how selfless they were. It is not always about receiving, but giving, so every time they [the Washington Redskins Charitable Foundation] have some type of event to give, I am always there.”

Along with the honor comes a $1,000 donation to Pensacola-based Change Starts Now, Morris’ designated charity.

Along with Morris, the team recognized Josh Morgan, Darrel Young, and Josh Wilson for their community service over the course of the year.

Past Redskins winners of the Walter Payton Man of the Year include: Joshua Morgan, 2012; Lorenzo Alexander, 2010-11; London Fletcher, 2008-2009 (selected as NFL finalist in 2009); Rocky McIntosh, 2007; Renaldo Wynn, 2006; Shawn Springs, 2005; Chris Cooley, 2004; Darnerian McCants, 2003; Eddie Mason, 2002; Chris Samuels, 2001; Darrell Green, 1996 (won the national award); and Joe Theismann, 1982 (won the national award).