Redskins notes: Orakpo seethes at non calls

Redskins notes: Orakpo seethes at non calls
December 13, 2010, 12:12 am
Share This Post

Sunday, December 12, 2010, 7:11 p.m.

By Ryan OHalloran
Staff writer


Brian Orakpo had the photographic evidence, which meant nothing to the officials.

The Redskins lost 17-16 to Tampa Bay Sunday and on the winning score Josh Freeman threw 41 yards to Kellen Winslow left tackle Donald Penn clearly hog-tied Orakpo. But no holding penalty was called.

After the touchdown, Orakpo and coach Mike Shanahan showed the officials a picture of the snap.

That was a huge play that could have turned the game around if I make that play and Im right there and for someone to hold me around the neck, its not fair to the team or to the defense thats working so hard, Orakpo said.

Orakpo said the hold was nearly as bad as the penalty on Alex Barron that wiped out Dallas potential game-winning touchdown.

That was one of the most blatant ones, almost like Dallas, Orakpo said. It was ridiculous.

Shanahan said Orakpo wasnt held, he was mugged.

Orakpo leads the Redskins with 8.5 sacks but only has one in the last four games as offenses account for his whereabouts and also hold him.

Very frustrating Ive been held all season, he said. I keep saying I have to keep fighting through and keep fighting but when you keep getting held like this, its ridiculous.

Career Day For Torain
Ryan Torain took a whole one carry to show that even though he hadnt played since Oct. 31, the rust was already knocked off.

Out four games with a hamstring injury, Torain sprinted 54 yards on the Redskins first offensive snap Sunday against Tampa Bay, the beginning of his career day 24 rushes for 172 yards.

The Redskins wasted Torains performance, losing 17-16 to the Buccaneers.

He did a great job of us, quarterback Donovan McNabb said. It was good to see Ryan back and healthy and being able to run through some tackles and pick up some yards for us.

Torains 158-yard first half was the most in the NFL since Tiki Barber five years ago against the Redskins.

In the second half, Tampa Bays defense adjusted, sending a back-side defender to account for Torains cut backs.

I was sitting out those last couple of weeks, not working my legs too much, Torain said. I came out there really fresh and was very ready.

Torain was slated to return against Philadelphia in Week 10 but was injured during warm-ups.

Ganos Shocking Day
Redskins kicker Graham Gano missed two more field goals and is 22-of-32 this year. The miss from 25 yards was only his second from inside 30 yards.

Obviously, I didnt hit the ball well but as far as exactly what it was, I dont know, he said. I thought they were good both times they felt good off my foot and normally, I can tell if its not a good kick so when I looked up on both, I was shocked.

Even with his bad game, dont expect the Redskins to have any kickers in to challenge Gano this week.

Hes been very consistent for us in practice, hes young, I think hes got a great future and hopefully he can put this behind him and when he gets in the same situation, can put it through the uprights, Shanahan said.

First For Paulsen
Logan Paulsen has been on the active roster all season but wasnt in uniform for five of the first six games. But after playing against Tampa Bay, hes dressed for the last seven games and scored his first NFL touchdown Sunday.

Paulsen entered the game as a part of a three-tight end package for a fourth-and-goal play from the 1-yard line. At the snap, he ran left and corralled McNabbs pass.

Paulsen was in a two-man route so he knew when the play was called, he had a good chance of being the target.

Asked the adrenaline started flowing when McNabb called the play, Paulsen said: Normally, Im a guy that falls guilty to that but this time, I went out there and it was just like running the play in practice and it worked perfectly.

No Fifth Down
There was confusion during the Redskins final drive when both down markers on the field and the television graphic had the wrong down.

On a first-and-10 play from the Buccaneers 12, McNabb threw to Armstrong. The initial gain was posted as 9 yards. In reality, it was a 10-yard gain and a first down.

The down makers were incorrect for several moments.

The initial ruling was first down to the 2 -yard line and the auxiliary box on the other side did not turn over; it was showing second down, referee Pete Morelli told a pool reporter. The primary box on the head linesman side, which is the main down box, had first down.

Contact Ryan at