Hardy, Jones, Wieters win Gold Glove Awards

Hardy, Jones, Wieters win Gold Glove Awards
October 31, 2012, 12:30 am
Share This Post

The awards keep coming for the Orioles. J.J. Hardy, Adam Jones and Matt Wieters all won Gold Gloves on Tuesday night. The Orioles are the only team in baseball to win three. The awards are voted on by managers and coaches.

It’s the first for Hardy, the second each for Jones and Wieters, who also won last year.

Not only did the Orioles win three, but they join the New York Yankees as one of two teams with more than one recipient.

Hardy made just six errors while leading American League shortstops in a variety of categories including games, fielding chances, putouts and assists.

His .992 fielding percentage was the highest by an AL shortstop since Mike Bordick had a .998 mark for the Orioles in 2002 and his 529 assists were the most since Cal Ripken had 531 in 1989.

Hardy joins Ripken (1991-92), Mark Belanger (1969, 71, 73-78), and Luis Aparicio (1964, 66) as Orioles shortstops to win the Gold Glove.

Jones won as an outfielder in 2009. This is his first award as a center fielder since recognition was given by position. He led the league in games and putouts by a centerfielder.

He’s the third Orioles outfielder to win a Gold Glove. Paul Blair (1967, 69-75) and Nick Markakis, who won last year as a right fielder, are the others.

Wieters, the only Orioles catcher to win a Gold Glove, led the league in games and putouts. For the third straight year, his caught stealing percentage rose.

Hardy, Jones and Wieters are the first Orioles trio to win Gold Gloves since Roberto Alomar, Mike Mussina and Rafael Palmeiro all won in 1998. It’s the ninth time in club history that at least three won. Sixteen Orioles have won 64 Gold Gloves since the establishment of the award in 1957, one fewer than the Yankees’ 65.