Hardy, Jones, Wieters finalists for Gold Glove Awards

Hardy, Jones, Wieters finalists for Gold Glove Awards
October 29, 2012, 7:00 pm
Share This Post

On Tuesday night, three Orioles will have the opportunity to take home a Gold Glove Award. J.J. Hardy, Adam Jones and Matt Wieters are all finalists for the honor.

Hardy, who has never won a Gold Glove, is competing with Texas’ Elvis Andrus and Seattle’s Brendan Ryan. He had just six errors in a career high 158 games. In 2011, he had the same number of errors in 29 fewer games.

Jones won a Gold Glove in 2009 when outfielders were grouped and not voted on by positions.

That year, he had nine assists and five errors. In 2012, Jones had seven assists and eight errors.

He faces stiff competition from the Angels’ Mike Trout and the Tigers’ Austin Jackson.

Wieters is looking to repeat. For the third straight year, Wieters improved his percentage of runners caught attempting to steal. In 2012, it rose to 39 percent while the number trying to steal fell from 92 to 83. He had a career high 10 errors.

Detroit’s Alex Avila, Chicago’s A.J. Pierzynski and New York’s Russell Martin, are Wieters’ challengers.

Nick Markakis, who won a Gold Glove as a right fielder, is not a finalist.

The winners will be announced on ESPN2 at 9:30 p.m.