Ford refuses outright assignment

Ford refuses outright assignment
November 6, 2012, 5:00 pm
Share This Post

Lew Ford has joined Zach Phillips and Steve Tolleson in declaring for free agency.

Ford, who returned to the major leagues with the Orioles after nearly five years, was outrighted to Norfolk on Friday along with Phillips and Tolleson.

The Orioles have 25 minor league free agents, according to a list  compiled by Baseball America.

Ford, Phillips and Tolleson can negotiate with any major league team, but could also re-sign with the Orioles.

Four other players on the list have played with the Orioles: pitcher Pedro Viola, first baseman Rhyne Hughes and infielders Ryan Adams and Blake Davis.

Adams is currently under a 25-game suspension for use of amphetamines. Hughes was suspended for 50 games in late 2011 for use of performance-enhancing substances.

Hughes played 14 games for the Orioles in 2010, Adams 29 and Davis 25 in 2011. Viola pitched twice in 2010 and four times in 2011.

Thirty-four year-old Joel Pineiro, who’s won 104 major league games is also on the list. Pineiro pitched in five minor league games before needing shoulder surgery.

Travis Adair, son of Orioles pitching coach Rick Adair, an infielder who played at Frederick, is also listed.

Others with major league experience are pitchers Greg Burke, Rich Rundles and Oscar Villarreal, outfielders Josh Barfield, Jamie Hoffmann and Antoan Richardson.

Billy Rowell, the team’s top draft pick in 2006, is also listed. He was also suspended in 2012 for marijuana use.
Brandon Erbe, a local product who was the team’s third-round pick in 2005 and Scott Beerer, a pitcher turned outfielder, signed at the recommendation of Brady Anderson join pitchers Eric Beaulac, Matt Bischoff, Robert  Hinton, Oscar Melendez, Kyler Newby, Bobby Wilkins and catcher Chase Weems on the free agent list.

Other former Orioles also on Baseball America’s list:
Daniel Cabrera and Josh Bell (Arizona), Felix Pie (Atlanta), Rodrigo Lopez and Miguel Socolovich (Chicago Cubs), Will Ohman (Cincinnati), Corey Patterson (Milwaukee), Adam Loewen (New York Mets), John Maine and Craig Tatum (New York Yankees), Jake Fox and Kyle Hudson (Philadelphia), Jo-Jo Reyes (Pittsburgh), Lou Montanez (St. Louis), Brian Burres (San Francisco), Willie Eyre and Val Majewski (Texas), Chris Jakubauskas and Jack Cust (Toronto), Mitch Atkins (Washington).