Eddie Johnson left off preliminary World Cup roster

Eddie Johnson left off preliminary World Cup roster
May 12, 2014, 4:30 pm
Share This Post

D.C. United won't have an American representative at the World Cup in Brazil this summer after today's 30-man preliminary roster was announced. Forward Eddie Johnson was expected to be on the original 30-man preliminary roster, but was not guaranteed a spot on the final 23-man roster getting on the plane headed to Brazil.

The move was likely made due to his lack of goal scoring in MLS so far this season. In eight games in 2014, Johnson has yet to record a goal and has just one assist in his time with D.C. United. 

Johnson had been a mainstay with the senior club the last two seasons, featuring 22 times (11 starts) since 2012 and recorded seven goals and two assists. However, Klinsmann had noted that current form would be taken into consideration, and it appears that was the reason he was dropped from the team. 

Goalkeeper Bill Hamid was the only other United player to feature for the U.S. Men's National Team recently, but with the top three goalkeepers still around, Hamid had little chance of making the roster.

So was Eddie Johnson snubbed? Given his track record with the national team, I thought we would have at least made the 30-man roster, but his form would have ultimately kept him off the plane to Brazil. 

Klinsmann will have three send-off matches before he has to turn in his final 23-man roster. The United States faces Ghana in their opening match June 16th. 

Here's the full roster: 

GOALKEEPERS (3) : Brad Guzan (Aston Villa), Tim Howard (Everton), Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake)
DEFENDERS (11) : DaMarcus Beasley (Puebla), Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City), John Brooks (Hertha Berlin), Geoff Cameron (Stoke City), Timmy Chandler (Nürnberg), Brad Evans (Seattle Sounders FC), Omar Gonzalez (LA Galaxy), Clarence Goodson (San Jose Earthquakes), Fabian Johnson (Hoffenheim), Michael Parkhurst (Columbus Crew), DeAndre Yedlin (Seattle Sounders FC)
MIDFIELDERS (10) : Kyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake), Alejandro Bedoya (Nantes), Michael Bradley (Toronto FC), Joe Corona (Club Tijuana), Brad Davis (Houston Dynamo), Mix Diskerud (Rosenborg), Maurice Edu (Philadelphia Union), Julian Green (Bayern Munich), Jermaine Jones (Besiktas), Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City)
FORWARDS (6) : Jozy Altidore (Sunderland), Terrence Boyd (Rapid Vienna), Clint Dempsey (Seattle Sounders FC), Landon Donovan (LA Galaxy), Aron Johannsson (AZ Alkmaar), Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes)