Nationals agree to contract terms with 17 players

Nationals agree to contract terms with 17 players
February 26, 2014, 5:15 pm
Share This Post

VIERA, Fla. — The Nationals agreed to contract terms with all 17 of their pre-arbitration players on Wednesday, finalizing the entire roster’s 2014 salaries with little disagreement.

Those players, who all have fewer than three years of big-league service time and thus aren’t yet eligible for arbitration, have no official say in their salary figures at this point. But in announcing they “agreed to terms” with all 17, as opposed to “renewing a contract,” the Nationals were able to successfully negotiate with their players rather than impose a particular salary number on any.

All of these players will make the MLB league minimum salary ($500,000) or receive slight raises above that, based on service time and career performance.

Topping the list is Danny Espinosa, who will make $540,000 this season, according to sources familiar with the contract. That’s more than a standard raise from Espinosa’s $526,000 salary a year ago, a show of good faith from the Nationals after leaving the slumping infielder at Class AAA Syracuse in September and preventing him from accruing enough service time to qualify for arbitration this winter.

The other players to signed Wednesday: Ryan Mattheus, Tyler Moore, Xavier Cedeno, Tanner Roark, Taylor Jordan, Jhonatan Solano, Erik Davis, Eury Perez, Christian Garcia, Jeff Kobernus, Sandy Leon, Zach Walters, Aaron Barrett, Sammy Solis, Steven Souza Jr., and Michael Taylor.

The Nationals’ entire 40-man roster is now under contract for 2014.