More defensive honors for Nats?

More defensive honors for Nats?
November 2, 2012, 2:00 pm
Share This Post

The MLB Gold Gloves awards are often criticized for their legitimacy. Whether it be Derek Jeter winning in 2010 at 36-years-old or Adam Jones winning in 2012 over Mike Trout, the choice of winners always creates controversy. Some say the award is based too much on reputation and some feel the focus is too much on traditional stats.

For those who complain about the stats part of things, they may enjoy this bit of news. The MLB Network will air a special on Sunday presenting the inaugural Wilson Defensive Player of the Year Awards. The show and award system will go beyond just position-by-position honors and will be analyzed using advanced statistics.

Some of the awards Wilson will hand out are the best defensive player in each league and the best defensive team in all of baseball. They will also go club-by-club naming the best defensive player on each team. This means at least one Nationals player will receive an award. Probably Adam LaRoche? We’ll see.

The Nationals are a fine defensive team as a whole, but it is unlikely they will get recognition as the best in baseball. To use one stat as an example, the Nats were the second worst team in the majors at stolen base percentage (.835). They were top ten in baseball in fielding percentage and errors committed, but several teams rank higher overall. 

The special airs Sunday at 8 p.m. ET on MLB Network.