Marlins Jose Fernandez wins NL Rookie of the Year

Marlins Jose Fernandez wins NL Rookie of the Year
November 12, 2013, 12:30 am
Share This Post

Marlins ace Jose Fernandez was named the National League Rookie of the Year on Monday, culminating a historic season for the 21-year-old from Cuba.

Fernandez was dominant all year before being shut down in early September due to a team-imposed innings limit. The right-hander went 12-6 on the last place Marlins with a 2.19 ERA (2nd in MLB) and 187 strikeouts in 172 2/3 innings pitched. He ranked fourth in the majors with a 0.979 WHIP and led all MLB pitchers with a 5.79 hits per nine innings rate.

26 of the 30 first place votes for NL Rookie of the Year went to Fernandez, with the other four to Yasiel Puig of the L.A. Dodgers. Fernandez becomes the first Marlins' Rookie of the Year since Chris Coghlan in 2009 and the fourth in franchise history. Hanley Ramirez won the award in 2006 and Dontrelle Willis in 2003.

Fernandez won the NL Rookie of the Month award twice in 2013 and pitched in the All-Star game in July. He is the first Cuban-born winner of the NL award. Tony Oliva won the American League honor in 1964 as a Minnesota Twin.

Fernandez is the third consecutive NL Rookie of the Year from the National League East division. Nationals outfielder Bryce Harper won it last season and Craig Kimbrel, closer for the Atlanta Braves, won it in 2012. All three players will likely define their respective franchises over the next few years.

Wil Myers of the Tampa Bay Rays won the AL Rookie of the Year award. For the full voting results, check out