Denard Span wins Wilson defensive award

Denard Span wins Wilson defensive award
November 8, 2013, 4:30 pm
Share This Post

Rizzo on Williams: 'Right guy at the right time'

Denard Span may have missed out on the coveted Gold Glove award for National League center fielders, but he has been given somewhat of a consolation prize. Span was named the Wilson defensive player of the year award for the Washington Nationals from Wilson sporting goods.

The award signifies Span as the Nationals’ most valuable player on defense which is an appropriate honor. For 153 games this season he was essentially perfect in center field with a 1.000 fielding percentage. He ranked second among MLB center fielders with 379 putouts and had five assists in 1300 2/3 innings.

Advanced statistics were also kind to Span this season. He placed third among NL center fielders with a 10.2 Ultimate Zone Rating.

Span helped improve the Nationals’ defense this year in the outfield and made several game saving grabs to secure victories for his team. One example would be Aug. 15 against the Giants, when Rafael Soriano nearly blew the save before Span caught a diving line drive for the final out in a 6-5 win. Span was photographed on the ground in front of the ‘Natitude’ sign in left-center field, providing one of the more memorable moments of the 2013 season for the Nats.

The 2013 Gold Glove award for NL center fielders was given to Carlos Gomez of the Milwaukee Brewers. Span was named a finalist along with Andrew McCutchen.

Here is the full list of 2013 Wilson defensive award winners:

Atlanta Braves – Andrelton Simmons – SS

Arizona Diamondbacks – Gerardo Parra – OF

Baltimore Orioles – Manny Machado – 3B

Boston Red Sox – Dustin Pedroia – 2B

Chicago White Sox – Gordon Beckham – 2B

Chicago Cubs – Darwin Barney 2B

Cleveland Indians – Yan Gomes – C

Cincinnati Reds – Jay Bruce – OF

Colorado Rockies – D.J. LeMahieu – 2B

Detroit Tigers – Austin Jackson – OF

Houston Astros – Matt Dominguez – 3B

Kansas City Royals – Lorenzo Cain – 3B

Los Angeles Dodgers – Juan Uribe – 3B

Miami Marlins – Donovan Solano – 2B

L.A. Angels of Anaheim – J.B. Shuck – OF

Milwaukee Brewers – Carlos Gomez – OF

Minnesota Twins – Brian Dozier – 2B

New York Mets – Juan Lagares – OF

New York Yankees – Robinson Cano – 2B

Oakland Athletics – Josh Reddick – OF

Philadelphia Phillies – Carlos Ruiz – C

Pittsburgh Pirates – Russell Martin – C

Seattle Mariners – Dustin Ackley – 2B

San Diego Padres – Chris Denorfia – OF

San Francisco Giants – Gregor Blanco – OF

St. Louis Cardinals – Yadier Molina – C

Tampa Bay Rays – Evan Longoria – 3B

Texas Rangers – Craig Gentry – OF

Toronto Blue Jays – Colby Rasmus – OF

Washington Nationals – Denard Span – OF