2014 Hall of Fame ballot released by BBWAA

2014 Hall of Fame ballot released by BBWAA
November 27, 2013, 9:00 am
Share This Post

The more than 600 voting members of the Baseball Writers Association of America will receive a Hall of Fame ballot in the mail this week, a group of 19 players representing the new class of candidates. Writers will cast their votes with the results announced on Jan. 8. New to the ballot are some notable names, including former Expo Moises Alou, former National Paul Lo Duca and and bunch of ex-Orioles.

Here is the full list with the years a player has been on the ballot in parentheses. Those without years next to them are new candidates:

Moises Alou

Jeff Bagwell (3)

Armando Benitez

Craig Biggio (1)

Barry Bonds (1)

Sean Casey

Roger Clemens (1)

Ray Durham

Erig Gagne

Tom Glavine

Luis Gonzalez

Jacque Jones

Todd Jones

Jeff Kent

Paul Lo Duca

Greg Maddux

Edgar Martinez (4)

Don Mattingly (13)

Fred McGriff (4)

Jack Morris (14)

Mike Mussina

Hideo Nomo

Rafael Palmeiro (3)

Mike Piazza (1)

Tim Raines (6)

Kenny Rogers

Curt Schilling (1)

Richie Sexson

Lee Smith (11)

J.T. Snow

Sammy Sosa (1)

Frank Thomas

Mike Timlin

Alan Trammell (12)

Larry Walker (3)

Obviously there's quite a bit of talent on that list. Some players have seen their chances affected by allegations of steroid use, so there's that factor. Still, it's a long list of baseball legends.

[RELATED: Nats propose plan for roof at Nationals Park]

Of the new names on the ballot, Greg Maddux, Frank Thomas and Tom Glavine certainly stand out. Baseball fans around here likely remember Mike Mussina and Armando Benitez from their Orioles days in the 1990s.

Craig Biggio and Jack Morris are two names to watch of the returnees. Biggio got 68.2 percent of the votes last year, a total of 388. He has impressive career numbers, probably just short of the first ballot distinction. This could be his year.

Morris also came close in 2013 with 67.7 percent of the necessary votes, or 385 in total. He was a very good pitcher for a long time, and a playoff hero, but has fallen short now for 14 years. 

There are a few players returning to the ballot who were also former members of the Nationals franchise, which of course used to be the Montreal Expos. Larry Walker is back for his fourth year and Tim Raines his seventh.

To be elected, a player needs 75 percent of the ballots cast. Who gets in this year?