Kastles win fourth consecutive championship

Kastles win fourth consecutive championship
July 27, 2014, 9:00 pm
Share This Post


The Washington Kastles extended their dynasty by beating the Springfield Lasers 25-13 in a five-set sweep to capture their fourth consecutive Mylan MTT Championship.

While the dynasty may not be ending, Saturday’s win did mark the end of another era as it was the final match of his professional career. Reynolds defeated Michael Russell 5-4 for the first time this season, rallying from a break down in the opening set. He also earned a 5-2 win in men’s doubles with Leander Paes.

Though it was a five-set sweep, Washington’s fourth title did not come easy. Olga Govortsova gave Springfield the 6-5 lead as she took a 2-0 lead over Martina Hingis in women’s singles. Hingis responded by winning five straight games.

Hingis wasn’t done. She and Anastasia Rodionova won women’s doubles 5-1 and her and Paes won in mixed doubles 5-4 to clinch the championship.

Not surprisingly, Hingis was named the Mylan WTT Finals MVP after winning 15 of the 22 games she played.

With this win, Washington has tied the longest the Sacramento Capitals for longest title streak in the Mylan WTT. Sacramento won four straight from 1997-2000. Three of Washington's five victories in the finals have come over the Lasers.