George Mason's Wright earns CAA honors

George Mason's Wright earns CAA honors
March 8, 2013, 9:15 pm
Share This Post

RICHMOND, Va. - On the eve of the 2012 Colonial Athletic Association Men’s Basketball Championship presented by Jani-King, George Mason junior guard Sherrod Wright was recognized among the conference’s elite players, earning a spot on the All-CAA Second Team. The awards were given out at the pre-tournament banquet Friday night, selected based on a vote by the conference’s head coaches, sports information directors and media members.

Wright, a two-time CAA Player of the Week honoree in 2012-13, earned his first all-conference honor after collecting a preseason second-team nod. For the Patriots, his selection marks the 19th consecutive year that a Mason player has earned All-CAA plaudits.

Leading the Patriots offense and ranking eighth among conference players, Wright scored 16.5 points per game on average this season. His 46.2 percent field goal percentage also ranked eighth in the CAA, while his free throw shooting mark of 77.1 percent was 10th. He is the only Patriot to have started all 30 games this season, averaging 31.9 minutes per outing. The Mount Vernon, N.Y., native pulled down 147 rebounds (4.9 rpg), second on the team, and also contributed 47 assists, 32 steals and 10 blocks.

Wright reached double digits in scoring in 25 games this season, including 12 games with 20 or more points. Highlighting those games were a career-high 28 points at William & Mary on Jan. 5, along with his first career double-double of 22 points and 11 rebounds in the win at James Madison.

Mason’s streak of All-CAA honorees dating back to 1995 is by far the conference’s longest. Drexel comes in second with 12 straight All-CAA honorees, beginning with the 2001-02 campaign.

Towson took home two individual awards, as Jerrelle Benimon and Pat Skerry were named the Player and Coach of the Year, respectively. Georgia State’s R.J. Hunter earned top rookie honors, Jamelle Hagins from Delaware was named the Defensive Player of the Year, while Northeastern’s Jonathan Lee was honored with the Dean Ehlers Leadership Award.

Wright and the Patriots open tournament play on Saturday afternoon against the fourth-seeded Drexel Dragons. Tip-off from Richmond Coliseum is set for 3:30 p.m.